top of page

Thailand Bound

Today I finally landed in Thailand. After months of planning and a bit of agonizing over it we are finally here. I left my house at 5am Portland time and about 31 hours later we all landed in Bangkok. An hour to our apartment and then we passed out.

The flights were... Brutal. That's really the only way to say it. the first from PDX to LAX was only 2 hours and I slept. The second was LAX to Seoul, South Korea and I only slept 3 of 12 hours. I was woken up at that third hour to the kid directly behind me puking on himself and then coughing and hacking the rest of it. Flight attendants were called and the cleaning frenzy began, all the while his mom is muttering "oh my..." "it's so much..." And I could smell it for the remainder of our 12 hour flight. As much as I felt bad for the kid, and admittedly his mother too, I also low key was pissed and cursing whatever travel gods hated me that day. The third flight was about 6 or 7 hours from Seoul to Bangkok and I slept fitfully. All in total the 31 hours pretty much killed any potential jet lag I might have and I slept through the night waking up Friday morning in Bangkok.

The food on the planes was good and they fed us twice on the way to Seoul and once to Bangkok (sadly I slept through that meal). On the way to Bangkok I watched 4 movies straight... Boss Baby, Ghost in the Shell, Frozen, and The Gift. I've never stayed up that long on a flight and it was interesting. I didn't hate it.

The first day there we got so much done. I was so not ready for it all. We took taxis to the large market and got lots of food, cleaning supplies, toilet paper etc. Then we took public transportation MRT (max) and the sky tram to the mall for uniforms. That night we went out on Khao Sarn road which is a laid back street with music, dancing, food, little shops etc. It was a lot of fun but by the end of the night I was completely exhausted.

First Meal on the Plane!

Second meal on the plane!

The first sign we saw in the Thailand Airport

bottom of page