top of page

Kyoto in a Day


So Paige and I took a train out to meet Bella in Kyoto and I've really been looking forward to this trip as well because Kyoto is where this beautiful large bamboo walk/forest is as well as the thousand gates temple in Inari.

So first stop was this lovely place where the bamboo surrounds you from both sides and it's a beautiful walk. We had a good time and luckily (I mean I knew it was going to be this way) Paige and Bella had no problem whatsoever getting along. Paige had a nice camera too which is why some of these are nicer than my normal photos.

My favorite moment of this part though was Bella and I were walking in front of Paige and I noticed she was taking a photo so I was like "Bella, look, smile" and we took a cute photo and Paige goes "The point of a candid photo isn't so that you turn and pose" and were both like oh okay. And then individually, without seeing the other person, both immediately turned and made the masterpiece below as Paige went to retake the photo.

Love it. Also I'm going to take this moment to say that I do own more than 1 coat but the other one isn't as warm so it recently hasn't been getting any use...

Anyway then we went to the Fushim Inari shrine which most of you will know as the 1000 gate shrine or that place with all the orange arches that everyone has cool photos of if they've gone to Japan.

It is a beautiful area and has a ton of street food right by the entrance to the temple as well. The entire thing is a bit of a hike, mostly uphill, and with many stairs but we actually did make it to the top (even through Bella's complaining). Walking through the gates is really quite fun and we were there right around night time so it was super beautiful and on the way down we saw the entire look out of the city too.

It was a really wonderful day and another really active one as well. We managed to walk 25,000 steps that day!

This is where I officially said bye to Bella (we traveled almost 10 full days together!) and that was kind of sad but it was a lot of fun meeting her and I had a good time!

I like Kyoto but the photos are really either green or orange and they really don't seem like it all happened in one day because of the stark contrast...This was a good day, also a long day. Paige and I went home and just ate our way through Dotonbori on our walk back from the station

bottom of page