top of page

Fiordi Di Furore


Today I went with my new friend Rica to the Fiordi Di Furore. It is one of those beautiful "secret" beaches that you can find in travel posts online and all over Pinterest. It is this beautiful little sliver of a beach that is hidden in a crevice like ravine behind the arched support of a highway. Above is the above view and below is the view from the beach. And yes that is me!

We managed to go on a Thursday which was really nice because as you can tell it wasn't super crowded. The beach is only in full sun for like 3-4 hours a day and is still partially shady at like 10:30am and at 4:30pm. Luckily that is more than enough though and we had a great time. I stopped by a local shop before going and picked up a fresh orange, two hunks of parmesan, and two loaves of bread. all total it was a bit less than 10 euros and ended up lasting me 2 days.

The first day I went to this beach, Thursday, it really wasn't that crowded, but the second day, Saturday it was massively crowded with a lot more locals and kids. I mean it made sense because it was the weekend but it was still a lot to deal with. Also June 1st is the official start of high season in this area and I'm really glad I got out before that happened.

We actually had to wait 2 full hours to catch a bus home because everyone and their mother was Determined to get on the bus to go home and we honestly didn't feel like pushing and shoving like entitled 5 year olds.. It was honestly kind of sad to watch. I read and my friend just hung out. To make matters worse though more than half of the busses didn't even stop because they were already packed from previous stops. It amazes me how crowded that coastline is and I wonder how they'll increase busses to accomadate high season.

I'm not sure if I've mentioned this before but the busses here are amazing. The crazy thing though is that Amalfi is the central bus hub. Every bus terminates there and sometimes you'll have to make a transfer there if you start at a different area. The thing is though they don't have any place for the busses to properly turn around so they have this one area where the busses go into, then back into bus parking lots, unload and reload, and then zoom off again. Except this area has like 12 bus lanes and each lane holds two busses and the area in front of it where they have to turn around isn't even as long as one bus so they're always maneuvering and it is packed with idiot travelers, tons of luggage, cars, and motorcycles.

There is one bus conductor who is in charge of placing the busses, partially directing traffic, and helping the busses park. He is a severe looking man and I started calling him the bus whisperer because I saw him nearly get hit by all manor of motor vehicle and he never once flinched and he directs all the busses and when they are backing up he walks beside them with one hand outstretched touching the bus and its pretty comical so I call him the bus whisperer. I saw one other guy do this job the entire time I was there (presumably his day off) and he didn't nearly have the connection with the busses as the true bus whisper.

The other thing is that all the bus drivers sit around here and take breaks so everyone can ask them which bus they need or for general help and they'll usually help out. Bus whisperer though is a little too important and he's generally to the point and not super friendly. Except my friend went up to ask him the second day and she was standing behind him waiting for him to get done with someone else and he turned with his hand outstretched to motion towards a bus and totally backhanded her. He was so surprised and so sorry, he was sooooo nice to her (and me) and that was easily the most helpful and genuine and nice I'd seen him literally all week.

Dawn - I am not sure how to directly reply to your comments or if you'd even see or get a notification of my response so I'll answer here instead. Thank you for always reading and commenting, I do see and read your comments. However I don't get notifications of them either so I actually didn't realize you were commenting until towards the end of Thailand. I always appreciate that I know that I have a reader! As to your direct question, I asked and she says it is a Canon T3i. I don't know much about camera's but I'm hoping to when I return!

bottom of page